1805 Swift - Resurrected

This isn't really a build log, since I didn't take pictures until well into the project. This is my first build (and it shows!), which I started back in 1983. My lack of experience and planning is evident with the hull. I probably started work on the vessel a couple of days after receiving the kit. It stood idle for close to twenty years in my garage and the temperature extremes and humidity caused problems with wrapping and separation.
IMG_2410.JPG
When drilling the holes for the mast, I felt the drill press was overkill, but it was all I had. I used a small file to accommodate for the angle of the masts. After looking numerous times, I do not see any degrees of angle given for the masts. Anyone know? Also, there is a small gap beneath the transom supports on the stern.
IMG_0207.JPGIMG_0214.JPG
Tapering was a challenge. As shown, I used my cordless drill. The process was slow and tedious. The instructions said to use a coarse file to start, but I was unsure of that, so used various grit sandpapers as I progressed.
IMG_2438.JPG
An inventory of the kit would have exposed a few missing parts, and two of the smaller wooden pieces (guides for the cabin hatch) were shorter than shown in the plans. Some of the brass straps for the spars and masts were not the correct sizes. I did purchase a second used Swift kit off of eBay to use for missing parts and anything that might be damaged. I plan to use this second kit to practice on planking.

More pictures later. All comments are welcome.

Mike

Hi Mike
The plans say 81 degrees.
For me I like to whittle down the masts with a hobby knife to a close approximation and finishing with a file and sandpaper.
Drill press for sure is overkill IMO. A hand drill would be my choice or simply using my fingers twisting a small bit graduating to larger ones works.
I use paper instead of brass for the bands.
Also I would have cut a new keel.