An old newbie

Hi all. I am living in a retirement village near to Lake Taupo New Zealand. I am totally new to ship building, but I need something to occupy my mind.

I have come across a drawing, by the Swedish designer Chapman, of a 26 24 pound cannon and 14 coronade Frigate called "Adolphe". If anybody has any info on this ship I'd be grateful.

Regards John

Hi all. I am living in a retirement village near to Lake Taupo New Zealand. I am totally new to ship building, but I need something to occupy my mind.

I have come across a drawing, by the Swedish designer Chapman, of a 26 24 pound cannon and 14 coronade Frigate called "Adolphe". If anybody has any info on this ship I'd be grateful.

Regards John
Hi John,
Welcome aboard!
Did you try the Stockholm Maritime Museum? There are a few very friendly women there!
János

Hi John,
Welcome aboard!
Did you try the Stockholm Maritime Museum? There are a few very friendly women there!
János
Greetings aboard, John, One large benefit to SoS is that there are so many model builders who have done extensive research into many topics so it is very likely that you will be provided search links up to direct information to your questions. Enjoy the hobby and disregard the time that a model may take as the time is well spent and the completed project is not an end but the beginning of the next build. Rich (PT-2)

Regards John
Hallo John,

first of all a warm welcome here on board of our forum.

Maybe you by yourself some more data of this ship / drawing, so we have some more basic data for the research. Or you could make a photo of this plan...

On Threedecks there is no swedish or friagte Adolphe listed (only smaller vessels), but I found a swedish east indiaman 60gun Fourth Rate ship of the line 'Prins Fredrik Adolf' (1763) which was converted to a 24 gun Swedish Merchant east indiaman 'Adolph Friedric' (1763)

this information (in threedecks) is based on this page

Here you can find a list of the existing swedish frigates