Another Hayling 1760 build

As requested by Jim, here's my build log of the Model Dockyard POF Hayling 1760 (I will try my best to keep it updated... honest).

First off, the quality of the kit contents is excellent - and I really mean that. The wood and etched sheets are the best I've ever seen. I've never used pear wood before so it's a new experience for me and found it to be very close grained, a wonderful colour but a bit hard unlike good old bass wood which is really easy to carve.
But...
The instructions are very minimal and the 3D renderings sometimes don't match the model which means you have to do some head scratching to work out what should be happening. All in all, though, a good value kit.

So to my build...... First off the center frames on the jig:

IMG_20220918_115403_485.jpg

The bow frames are next... you can see the frames with the extensions which are not shown in the drawings...

IMG_20221001_135317_203.jpg

This is where it gets interesting.. the slots are labelled F1 to F4 but the instructions say there is an F5 but the jig markings don't have an F5 slot although it look like there should be a gap between F4 and F5... most confusing...

IMG_20221003_094902_754.jpg

And when F4 is slotted in, there appears to be no space for F5 pieces...

IMG_20221003_095241_030.jpg

As the drawings show F4 and F5 as being one piece so I've decided to glue both F5 parts to F4 and carve the complete assembly to fit the gap. Which I think is what the instructions meant.

IMG_20221003_100744_315.jpg

Wish me luck. I'll update when (if) I manage to get it to look right.

Cheers

Yes - very good start on the model and also with your building log - this will be interesting to follow

Hi Tom,
I also have this model. So far have built the jig and keel. Right now it is frames, frames, and more frames. About half way there. Possibly I will start a build log. Meanwhile I am not quite as far along as you and will be following with great interest.
Best of luck. Phil