Another Newbie

Hello to all! I am just about to start the construction of the Artesania Latina kit "King of the Mississippi." I've not made a model of this type, although I have built many RC and Rubber-powered airplanes, a 1952 MG from a kit, a boat and and a flying airplane. I like to build things. I live in the middle of Iowa, and have lots of history with the Mississippi and the Skunk and the Missouri rivers. I was a manufacturing Plant Manager, an Industrial Engineer, and owned and operated a hardware store. Also have 5 kids and many grand and great-grand children.
What's your advice on modern glues for this kit? Elmers, or Gorilla, or Cyanoacrylate?

Hello Robert, and welcome aboard SOS!! We are glad you found us and wishing you to enjoy here. Before I will answer your question about glue, may I suggest you start a building log of King of the Mississippi. This is a great way to interact with members and ask for help if required. What do you think? Just follow the link below and click 'post a thread'!

Now back to your question. We have so many threads about various glues and their use cases. The short answer is: for wood try using 'wood glue'. There are many brands and blends. each has its own characteristics. Most likely you will need to experiment until you will find your own preferable brand\blend. You cannot go wrong with TiteBond or Elmer's brands. Check the below link.

Good luck!

Welcome aboard, Bob.
As for glues, I tend to use Elmer's and Gorilla wood glue. If the need arises I have used ca glue as well.

Welcome!!

I tend to like WeldBond. It has fast initial tack and can fill gaps. Much easier to remove after it dries than TiteBond (which is impossible). Debonds with rubbing alcohol. For planking, I use a dot of WeldBond and a dot of gel CA glue at each frame/ bulkhead. Hold pressure a few seconds and the CA acts as a chemical clamp. No external clamping needed! Practice the technique before using.

Just my 2 cents...works for me!