Artesania is La Niña build

Hi. This is my first build and I was posting in the introduction forum. I thought as I am taking photos and doing a build I may as well put some stuff in here. I have started with some photos of the build so far and will add notes as we go. Lessons I have learnt so Farr are:
These things aren’t cheap
Read the instructions and research the sites before getting started
Do planking on decks etc before attaching them to the model.
This is addictive.

25FB9A7C-7E4D-4AA4-9BAA-F4DD8C4034E0.jpeg

9DAA6813-3451-48BA-BC64-18DCAF37F43A.jpeg

7608A389-AFB4-4F3E-BDF1-6D168A79788F.jpeg

7CC68E29-D072-42DC-B8DE-7282928BCF41.jpeg

F815AA82-0131-44D9-92E2-BD17904D577B.jpeg

3F9DA182-60D8-4271-A2DB-4B8785B8BD19.jpeg

Welcome to the forum and thank you for starting a log!

Those are valid things you list as things you have learned. I will point out one thing about planking the deck prior to mounting them-this will vary model to model. For example the Compestela I am working on does not have a separate sub-deck that the planking is glued to. The planks are mounted directly to the bulkheads one at a time just like on the hull.

Glenn

Thanks for liking.
Last night I put the poop deck (Bridge deck) and bows on. Had to do a little snding and adjustments to make them fit, and I found hosting the America's Cup was worth it as the rear bridge deck is held on by a bracelet they handed out at the Auckland Viaduct when we went there. Today is all about starting the planking of the hull and I am putting this off as much as possible as I am nervous - hoping the fairing has been done ok and expecting it to be quite frustrating at times. I am thinking of using my wife's hairdryer to heat the planks after soaking to help with bending them. I note Glenn - you put them in hot water. What are people's thoughts and suggestions Please?

I have found this on Youtube which I have found helpful for fairing and planking