Bending Planks

Has anyone in the group used steam for bending planks for the hull? Is there a better way? And another quick question - has anyone built a jig to hold the bulkheads square to the keel during initial glue-up? I see the Fair-A-Frame offering but it looks flimsy. I can build one better but was wondering if anyone already did this and has a plan or design they might want to share? This is my first build (Artesiania Latina San Francisco II galleon) and I am looking forward to getting underway. Thanks for all your advice and help!

Polydoc is quite correct - let them soak, or even better boil them in a pan. I prefer to bend the planks off the ship, using a template a bit tighter than the bend you want, as there will be a bit of 'spring-back'. Leave to dry overnight.
The soaking/boiling may raise the grain of the wood slightly, depending on species, but you will be sanding the hull later, so not a problem.

Hope this helps
Ted

Happy new year to all, i am new to this site been on less than a month. On the other side of ship building over the last 40 years have experimented with various methods from steam to soaking in hot water, to a candle,,the best for me and the wood, is build yourself a little trough ,lots of ways to do so, big enough for lets say 6 to 10 pieces of the wood ,( planks) you wish to soak , i have a few ,various lengths from wood i glued then a few layers of clear varathane for a seal,and plastic containers like hachsaw blade containers,you get the idea,then fill that trough with 70 % rubbing alchohol, from a pharmacy. For 2 to 2 1/2 hours. Bend it around a curved wood jig or set up a plank of wood and use screws and hold that form less than a minute, you will find that the alchohol helps bend and hold, the shape as well evaporates and the wood is in a lot better condition than with soaking in water for a lot of reasons