Bluenose 1:64 by Model Shipways - Build log

Do I paint the hull or do I install the rails?

• Hull

Votes: 0 0.0%
  • Rails

Votes: 0 0.0%

• Total voters
  • Poll closed .

Decided to take the plunge and start a log. I’m going to continue to have questions and a build log seems to be the best way to get them answered. So here goes.

I’ve been working on my Bluenose (1/64; Model Shipways) since October of 2000 - yes almost 24 years. I started it after a divorce but then within a month or so of starting it, I put it away until last month. It survived multiple moves (including Denver to Phily and back to Denver then a few moves within the Denver area). It had survived, but there was some damage that would need to be repaired.

I don’t have pictures of how I found it when I re-started it, and very few detailing what I’ve done so far. I hope to change that, but just how detailed this log will be, at this point, who knows.

Quick recap…
Before putting it away in October of 2000, I spent around 6 hours on it including an inventory of pieces, putting the keel together, installing the sternpost, cutting the rabbet, tapering the stern, and installing the bulkheads.

On 3/15/23 I pulled it out and started working on it. Or wanted to work on it, but it took a while to repair the damage and figure out what I had actually done on it . The damage that needed repair was rebuilding basically everything after bulkhead N as it was broken off with one half of bulkhead O completely missing.

Once the repairs were done, I created and installed the stern blocks. The bulkheads were a bit warped/curved so I pretty much sprayed the whole thing with hot water and used a temporary batten along each slide in an attempt to straighten everything out. All in all, I was pleased with what I was able to do. It began to look like I’d be able to save it.