Design and build model ships from scratch.

I was surprised to find that you can get, what appears to be, some pretty decent table/bench mounted saws for hobby level work of this type for a couple hundred bucks a pop.

I've got space for something like that, so now that's got me thinking about roughing out some of my own designs and building those, in addition to kits.

I'm sure I'm not the first person to think of that. I just wonder how many other people had the same great idea and, for whatever reason, all that equipment ends up just sitting around.

yup i have been doing judt thst for many years

i suggest looking into home use size tools and not the little hobby tools. Or else you will find yourself haveing to purchase resawn sheet stock witch kind of defeats the purpose of DIY approach.

I was looking at things like that Wen scroll saw and some of the MicroLux stuff. The Proxxon products get mentioned a lot as well. Thinking maybe start with a scroll saw and a table saw.

Still, I am talking about a small space here, about 10 X 10. Ventilation is OK and I've got a 2 HP Shop Vac so I like the saws that have the hose attachments. I'm not too concerned about noise, those saws don't appear to be much louder than my shop vac, but that's still something to think about.

But I like the idea of sketching something out on paper and then building it.

I find that being able to use woodworking tools in my shop lets me repair, add or augment my kit builds. I haven't yet considered scratch building. I do have a full woodshop and added a Proxxon mini tablesaw to mill grates. It all helps!