Fresh from the Netherlands

Good day, y'all,
New to this forum, from the Netherlands.
My name is Johan and I retired November last year.
So with free time to spare, I started to rebuild a Billing Boats Bluenose scooner my father build about 40 years ago.
I stumbled upon this website in the search for tips and tricks and in the meantime I am very much interested in starting a POF model of mentioned Bluenose.
This website is a treasure trove for newbies such as me.

Some more info about me; I noticed I was a little short in my introduction, but there's more to tell:
About some forty years ago I build both the Billing Boats Lilla Dan and the Artesina Latina Scottish Maid, so yes, I have some building experience, but that's so shrouded in the mist of history that I consider myself a rookie.

I live in the Netherlands, in a small town called Loosdrecht, married, two kids with better halves and one granddaughter.

My whole carrier was spend in the aviation industry, mainly as design engineer and design build team lead.
I frequently found myself abroad, with a prolonged stay in the States having a significant impact our family life, both in the negative as in the positive sense.
While in the United States, I found the opportunity to obtain my Private Pilot License and enjoyed the freedom of flight immensely. Back in the Netherlands I wasn't able to stay current; too many things to focus on.

Skating was a favorite pastime, but this year I had to admit defeat; no more skating, too anxious to trip and fall, with possible severe injuries, so no more.
What's left is modeling, bicycling and music as the main pastime activities. As far as music goes, I'm an amateur organist and every once and a while I accompany the local congregation with their hymn singing.
I prefer classical music, especially from the baroque- and romantic era , but I also like to listen to more contemporary music.

Johan

Last edited: