G'day from Fremantle, Australia.

G'day all, I'm new to building wooden models although I started building a model of the Endeavour many years ago and have recently started on it again with renewed interest. I would like to build a model of the VOC ship Batavia but I need to gain a bit more experience by completing the Endeavour first. I am very interested in Australian history and the Batavia is such an important part of Western Australian history in particular that I really want to build a model of this ship.

I have visited the Abrolhos Islands where the Batavia was wrecked and have seen the islands where the murders took place. As a former safari tour guide in the north west of Western Australia I'm especially fascinated by the VOC ships that travelled up our coast on their way to the spice islands, especially those that didn't reach their destination.

I hope to learn a lot from reading through the many threads on this forum. Thanks for letting me join, cheers, Dave.

Welcome aboard Dave lots of Aussies here, I'm from Melbourne and have family in Perth. The Batavia museum is very interesting and it would make a nice project. Is your Endeavour from a kit? Post some pictures or start a build log there will be interest.

Hallo Dave,

first of all also from my side a warm welcome here on board of our forum

Only for your information. One of our members Hans alias @Kolderstok is the owner of a kit manufacturer with the same name

He is offering a very detailed model kit of the Batavia - highly recommended

20150131-_MG_5036.jpg

www.kolderstok.com

Hallo Dave,

first of all also from my side a warm welcome here on board of our forum

Only for your information. One of our members Hans alias @Kolderstok is the owner of a kit manufacturer with the same name

He is offering a very detailed model kit of the Batavia - highly recommended

View attachment 241469

www.kolderstok.com
Thankyou for the welcome, much appreciated.