Greetings from Alexandria Virginia, USA.

I just joined this group and would like to introduce myself. I am a lifelong modeler that builds all kinds of models both for personal use and for clients. I have built some ship models in the past. I attached some example photos. The first is a sub chaser I scratch built for a local museum for their 100 Anniversary of WWI exhibit. They built 20 of those ships in Alexandria during WWI.

I also included a photo of a cargo container ship I built using the hull from a Deans Marine kit and scratch building the rest. That was for a model railroad layout to support a book I wrote for Kalmbach Publishing (now Kalmbach Media) on Marine Terminals. I also built a 1/160th scale Pungy schooner for another museum exhibit.

I currently working on several ship models for my 1/48th scale model railroad that is set in the American Civil War. I am depicting the US Army's harbor at Aquia Landing in March 1863. I plan to have several ship models as part of the scene. I have completed a model of the car ferry used by the railroad (see photo.)
You can learn more about my layout on my blog at www.usmrr.blogspot.com

I have several ship kits that I plan to use on the layout as well as some scratch building. They include the Smuggler by Blue Jacket and the Swift by Artesania Latina. I started a model of the ironclad monitor US Passaic, but it is not finished. I also have a copy of the Dumas Mt Washington, but that kit has been a struggle. I may end up scratch building it instead. I have a lot to learn about sailing ship models so I am excited to see what you all build.

Bernard Kempinski
Alexandria, VA

PioneerMills1.jpgAquiaLandingW.jpgDanicaMarie.jpgFINISHED MODEL03.jpg

IMG_8455.jpg

also from my side a warm welcome here on board of our forum
Your diorama are looking very realistic - very good work
Hope to see more of your work - ships and dios.......