Greetings from Sweden.

Hello from Sweden!
I just found this forum! Looks like a nice place to hang around.
My name is Johan and I am from south/ central Sweden.
My main interests are merchant vessels since I work as an officer in the merchant navy and my great grandfather was a "deep-sea" sailor who also spent some time on the Great Lakes.
Modelling wise I have fiddled around with the usual plastic models and also done some papermodels.
My goal is to build some miniatures of the ships I sailed on, and also, if I could find plans or pictures, the Great Lakes schooner "Debbie Mae" and four mast barque "Altair" since my ancestor mentions these vessels in some notices I happen to have saved.

also from my side a warm welcome here on board of our friendly forum

Especially the barque Altair would be a very interesting project, although I guess it will be problematic to get drawings

but also I found a four masted Altair

Especially the barque Altair would be a very interesting project, although I guess it will be problematic to get drawings

Hello! Great finds!
Interesting reading! "My" Altair is the second one, the fourmaster. This is actually the first time I get to read anything about her.
I have one postcard with a picture of her, but thats all I got. She was painted in a light colour ( grey, white?). Not much to construct a model from though...

I actually found a picture of her, taken 1908. Judging from this picture I would say that she is grey and the deck structures white.
Joining this group really got me staryef on fact-collecting
A link to the picture:

I found another Altair - in "THE GHOST SHIP"

a film from 1943 with Richard Dix as Captain Will Stone

but it seems, that this ship is a different one

But I was reading in a german paper, that "your" Altair made a record journey from Europe to San Franzisco in only 98 days - Average was 133 days.
So she was a cape Hoornier !