Hello from Durban South Africa

I am a mechanical engineer, historical author and part-time model ship builder.
I have built several Artesania models, built the DeAgostini model of the Bounty, and now building the DeAgostini model of the Victory, having had all the bits in storage for some time.
My ambition is to build a model of the 750-ton Barque "Edward" that brought my family to Natal, South Africa in 1850. I have Underhill plans for a ship that Bob Lightley advised was pretty close. I wrote about the voyage my family undertook in 1850, from London to Natal, so the build would be special. Bob Lightley is a legend in the model ship game. I lived in Cape Town as a student Bob was an inspiration, having several models at the Maritime Museum at Greenwich. His accuracy was something to behold, down to spinning his own ropes. His models were made of boxwood and his dioramas were incredibly accurate. I have much of the same equipment he had, such as an Emco lathe and I can only hope to emulate his craftsmanship in a small way.

Last edited:
You can post you finished model images here,please read the guidlines

Hallo @Denzil Bazley ,
we are very happy, that you have found our community - a warm welcome here on board of our forum.
A very interesting story stands behind your project - so I am crossing all fingers, that it will be a success.
So we are all looking forward to participate, when you start a building log of your Edward.
BTW: From which country the Edward was sailing?

Good morning,
Thank you for the kind welcome, I love the site.