Hello from The Netherlands

Hi to all of you on SOS.
I am new on this forum but have been looking around for a while now and must pay respect to some beautiful builds over here.
My father, who passed away years ago, left me the book "De 7 Provinciën". Years later now I have decided to build a model of this illustrious Dutch ship. This book by C.G. Dik comes with a set of plans and accompanied by an other set of plans from the website of the deceased Otte Blom I have started my scratch build. Already learned a lot from this forum and also from MSW, in particular the build log there of Dražen Carić, who has been an example for the start of my journey.
It has been some 40 years ago that I have built a model ship so you can say I am a returnee to the hobby but in fact it feels I am new to it and certainly new to a scratch build. So a lot to learn. In the meantime I have collected and studied several books about the ways of ship- and model building, I think indispensable to make a scratch build into a success.

Herman

Welcome Herman.

We have many knowledgeable builders of the Dutch style ships here to help you.

Please look around at the many help and support topics on how to do things in the SoS Forum.

And please start a separate build log on your ship so we can follow along and you can post photos, ask for help or tell us how you got things done that were not easy to figure out.

Welcome aboard Herman. I'm building the Prins Willem almost the same era like the 7P. You can always give a look in my log. Hope to see a log of your build to.

Hartlijke welkom Herman. It is great to have another member who is building a Dutch a ship - and then not just any Dutch Ship, but Het Lands Schip. I will be watching for your updates in anticipation.

Hallo Herman,
also from my side a warm welcome here on board of our forum.
Would be very happy to see your actual status of your project - and maybe you show it here regular within a building log
Would be very interesting to follow