Hello from Western Colorado

This is mostly a re-post from before the page got reset here recently.

I’ve been building models since I was 8 or so of one type or another. For the last 8 years, I’ve been doing N Scale (1:160) trains. I built several layouts. The latest used hand layed track and is fully computerized, including sounds and the signal lights. The problem I have with the trains is space, so I decided to go back to model ships. Here’s a couple photos of the layout it’s 3 ½ by 6 feet.

SC001-S.jpg SC004-M.jpg
Over the years I’ve done several other hobbies. I raced RC Cars, which got me into machining so I could make parts for the cars. I converted my Mill to CNC, and then back when I realized I pretty much never used the mill because it was too much effort to do the computer stuff just to drill a hole. I was an electronics tech in the Navy. My grandfather taught me to weld and braze etc. Basically I just like to fix and or build about anything.

I built my first ship model when I was 16, for my mother. It is the plastic Revell Cutty Sark. Here’s a photo of it taken this morning, it’s currently sitting in my garage. It’s pretty rough but not horrible considering I was 16.
cutty%20(1024x643)-S.jpg
My first wood model, like many, was never completed. I bought it when I was in the Navy around 1987 and built the hull but never did the masts. I was stationed on a destroyer and couldn’t figure out how to taper the masts in the harpoon equipment room, so It got boxed and lost somewhere along the way.
In 1992 I bought and built a Mamoli USS Constitution. I did pretty good up until the rigging. Fixing it up will be the second project I currently have planned.
After I finished the Constitution I built a Corel Victory cross section. I finally managed a somewhat less that horrible attempt at rigging. I had to use a piece of wood to make the upper deadeyes the same height but it turned out somewhat believable.
vic3-M.jpg