Help with cooper plates

I am new at this and struggling, after thirty years as a surgeon now retired to build model boats like my father. I am working on a vanguard. I am allergic to regular superglue so have to use foamless. I put the cooper plates on but there is glue residue on plates and whenever I try to clean, polish I just make it worse, lots of green residue, and plates snag and get loose with my wipe cloths,, I really would like a nice smooth shiny cooper finish, but feel like I am spinning my wheels, have tried bravo, and dremel polish wheels.

Attachments

• image.jpg
    image.jpg
    336.3 KB · Views: 52
  • image.jpg
    image.jpg
    261 KB · Views: 52
i am not sure what foamless is, maybe a glue that works on foam? it sounds like the glue is not holding to the copper if it gets loose when it snags
to remove the residue maybe you need a solvent to clean the copper like Acetone but that might seep under the copper.
there is a product i have used and it removes just about anything. Maybe very fine 000 steel wool there are other hacks to remove glue residue like vinegar and salt, WD40, alcohol, lemon juice and salt, wood ash will all clean copper

goo gone.JPG

Last edited:
By the way some green copper verdigris are desired on these plates as this is what they are in life. They would quickly deteriorate and being replaced on a few year (may be decade, I do not know) basis. What is for sure they never stayed shiny for any long while.