HMS Victory painting

Cmb

I am very new to modeling and even newer to sailing ships. I'm undertaking a Heller 1/100 HMS Victory. I'm trying to figure out how to paint all the ornate work in the stern and side galleries. I've tried dry brushing and haven't found the right combination. Is that the right approach or is there something else. If dry brushing is correct could someone point me to a tutorial please? Thanks20210225_161800.jpg

Hi, thanks for the reply. I was looking for how to paint my model. The scoll work is so tiny and ornate i can't find a way to make tge model look like the great pics you sent. I was wondering if dry brushing was the way to go and if so, how to do it. So far my attempts have failed to yield an acceptable result.

Good lighting, hand/arm rest, top quality (sable) brushes.
GamesWorkshop/Citadel make the best paint for detail work; that's what they formulated it for.
Yellow on black is impossible otherwise.....a 'one shot' paint is essential for that.
Patience and lots of practice and then some.

it depends upon your objective. If you wish to cut-in each bannister, right up to the ground (an advanced painting skill), then you will have to learn how to proportionally thin your paints (model-specific acrylics are best for plastic), and you will have to learn how to properly load the brush with just enough paint that it lays down easily, without running away and pooling in the low ground. Everything Pugwash said about lighting, hand/arm rest applies, here. Learning how to breathe, while doing this (slow, measured breathing), is important. Keep in mind, though, that it takes a lot of practice to become proficient and comfortable with this technique.