How far do you go?

I'm puttering away on The Discovery1789. It's my first build, it's a POF and I've kinda been using Don Vada's Vulture as a model. Stuglo's build gives more detail but I'm just a little ahead of him. Anyway, I'm to the point of starting the lower deck. All the platforms and cabins on the platforms are pretty much done. I put the inner walls in the magazine and it crossed my mind that some barrels of powder would look cool. I can see myself heading down a deep rabbit hole here. How did some of you decide that enough was enough? My initial idea was to model her as she was when she sailed past my house. Well a couple of miles from my house.. I've discovered that she had a fish on the foremast and the bowsprit so I'm going to try to put that in but I'm stuck as far as how much inner detail to put in. Even done like Vada's how much can you actually see down though two or three decks of carlings and ledges.
Maybe some advice from more experienced builders that have been down this road before
Thanks
DSC04382.JPG

DSC04383.JPG

DSC04384.JPG

Last edited by a moderator: