Howzit from New Zealand

Hello everyone, I've been building model ships for about 40 years now and had a lot of fun doing it. I'm trying to find a kit or plans of HMS Temeraire, the 98 gun ship that fought at Trafalgar. There doesn't appear to be much information around about these second rates, probably because there were so few of them, but if anyone can help, I'd be most grateful.

Keep Well,
George

Hello everyone, I've been building model ships for about 40 years now and had a lot of fun doing it. I'm trying to find a kit or plans of HMS Temeraire, the 98 gun ship that fought at Trafalgar. There doesn't appear to be much information around about these second rates, probably because there were so few of them, but if anyone can help, I'd be most grateful.

Keep Well,
George
Hallo George,
first of all a warm welcome here on board of our forum.

HMS Temeraire (1798):

I guess the wikipedia page of this ship is well known by you:

but maybe not the Threedecks-page with some detailed information:

Ok, there were three ships build of the same class:
named sometimes Dreadnought Class or also Neptune class - HMS Neptune (1797), HMS Temeraire (1798) and the HMS Dreadnought (1801)
The HMS Ocean launched in 1805 and HMS Queen were already lengthened

Some contemporary drawings of the class are still existing in the NMM, f.e.

j1630.jpg
Scale 1:48. Plan showing the body plan, sheer lines, and longitudinal half-breadth for 'Neptune' (1797), and later for 'Temeraire' (1798) and 'Queen' (1805) prior to the latter's lengthening. Alterations dated 1796 illustrated on the plan only apply to 'Neptune' and 'Temeraire', as 'Ocean' was ordered to be lengthened by 11ft 6 inches in July 1797.

j1767.jpg