I've never used an airbrush before

Been modeling since the 50's and always used a brush. I taught myself how to paint without leaving any brush strokes. I've watched many videos about airbrushing and noticed that the airbrush keeps clogging. I've been considering buying one now that they are only about $40 or so and that's with a pump/compressor but the clogging bothers me.
Any comments or suggestions, ideas are welcomed.

Hi thegrindre, I do not use air brush myself. I, as you, prefer a regular brush. Why? My scale is 1:90. I will ruin my wood work with using an air brush. Air brush spreads paint all over the model. One has to protect model areas from air brushing. My belief is the work one has to do protecting the model from contamination associated with air brushing is much bigger compared to just using a regular brush. I use as small regular brushes as sizes 3/0, 5/0, 10/0, 20/0. How can minute items I paint with these be painted with an air brush? I cannot imagine.

This is all just my opinion and you'll no doubt get a lot of different answers about airbrushes.

I would expect to have problems with an airbrush that was bought for $40 with an included compressor. Can't imagine it's more than a single action air valve with no paint volume control.

That aside, most of the time when an airbrush clogs, assuming it's been properly cleaned, it's because the paint isn't thinned properly, or there are chunks in the paint.