Metal fittings colors

This may not be the right place for this, but my question is about 'blackening' brass parts. Since 'Blacken-it' no longer seems to be available what other options are there??

I'm a newbie beginning with the Amati gunboat 'Arrow' model kit and the Model Shipways gunboat 'Philadelphia'. I have a PhD. in history & my limited research suggests that American ships of the Revolutionary War period did not have brass cannon - brass being way to expensive for the Colonial Navy (Army actually - since the gunboats were built & manned by the Army). I don't imagine that any of the fittings on the actual gunboats were brass - more likely they were made of bog iron. I'm not really keen on the idea of trying to paint the kit supplied brass fittings - I think that would add too much 'volume' to their size and not look accurate either.

Anyway any help, suggestions, info is appreciated. if this has been discussed elsewhere on the forum - please direct me in that direction.

Thanks Kevin

Hello, Kevin. Such a question popped up from time to time. I am sure we have answers scattered across build logs. I simple search (in the right upper corner) of the word 'blackening' reveals 7 pages of build logs. Not necessary all of them discuss how to blacken parts, but it is a great starting point

In short, I like to use the Birchwood Casey line products. They have products for brass and steel. The most popular among ship modelers in USA is Brass Black. Check this out.

I am using the stuff from Ballistol with very good result

but the material from Birchwood Casey like Jim mentioned is also very good

I am using the stuff from Ballistol with very good result
I believe the Ballistol product you cannot purchase in the US, and due to transportations restrictions, it makes it impossible to purchace from another part of the world. I can only guess they are pretty similar if not the same chemicals reagents branded by two different names.