Minnesota Here..

Hi,
My name is Don and I joined the group a week ago. I thought I would take a bit of time and introduce myself.
I am happily retired and live in beautiful Minnesota. Until this year, I was a plastic modeler, most recently concentrating on race cars. Unfortunately, most of the creativity in plastics comes from painting and decaling the model and I wanted to do something I have not done before. Wooden ships seemed too intimidating to get into. However, browsing the internet, I came upon the Model Shipways "Become a Shipwright of Old" set, purchased it, and got hooked. I love the concept of starting with a simpler model and working your way into progressively more intricate models.
I finished the dory in early March and am quite pleased with how it came out. During the course of the build, I learned many excellent techniques and gained confidence with each new element I attempted.
I am now working on the Norwegian Sailing Pram and am up to the standing rigging. This model should be done in a day or so.
Thanks for letting me join. I hope to learn a lot from you all and look forward to sharing my limited insights.
Cheers,
Don

20220310_122628.jpg

20220310_122640.jpg

20220420_121414.jpg

Hallo Don,
also from my side a warm welcome here on board of our forum.
Your Dori is looking very good - Bravo - so I am looking forward to see your Pram
and I guess you have already a plan what is coming next .....

Hi,
My name is Don and I joined the group a week ago. I thought I would take a bit of time and introduce myself.