My introduction

Hello, my name is Jim. Been building models of all sorts, on and off for over 50 years. Network engineer by trade. Lately I am building wooden frame models. Like to search the Internet for other photos when the instructions I have are not clear. and that's how I can across SOS. Current model build is an NH whaling boat from the 1850. I picked this because it was the closest whaling boat model I could find that I use to sail as a Sea Scout in San Francisco bay. Of course the SSS (Sea Scout Ship) didn't have harpoons. I will try to match the colors of the SSS to my model, as far as I can remember. That boat from what I have heard was sunk many years ago, so I can't go down and refer it. I'm not a rivet counter, and like to change the models I build to suit my skill level and tastes. But I do get upset when the instructions are poorly written, or the laser cut parts are so far off from the plans. Unnecessary time wasted. I will post photos of my build as soon as I figure out how and where that should be done.

Welcome to the SoS forums.

Check out our build logs forums to post a log on your ship build, we all like to see what others are doing, and its a way to ask for advise and help as needed.

I am a former adult member of the Sea Scout program myself. Part of the small boat group of land locked sailors in Oklahoma.