My new member intro

Hello, my name is Jim. Been building models of all sorts, on and off for over 50 years. Network engineer by trade. Lately I am building wooden frame models. Like to search the Internet for other photos when the instructions I have are not clear. and that's how I can across SOS. Current model build is an NH whaling boat from the 1850. I picked this because it was the closest whaling boat model I could find that I use to sail as a Sea Scout in San Francisco bay. Of course the SSS (Sea Scout Ship) didn't have harpoons. I will try to match the colors of the SSS to my model, as far as I can remember. That boat from what I have heard was sunk many years ago, so I can't go down and refer it. I'm not a rivet counter, and like to change the models I build to suit my skill level and tastes. But I do get upset when the instructions are poorly written, or the laser cut parts are so far off from the plans. Unnecessary time wasted. I will post photos of my build as soon as I figure out how and where that should be done.

What are your ship hobby interests?

What is your location in our big country, It helps to update your profile with info in the location section so other can know if there is someone close to them in our vast country.

Mostly sailing ships. Built a Bluenose. Took 11 years to complete. No room at the time to work on it. Now I have a dedicated hobby room.
I am in a small farming town 45 miles north of San Francisco, CA, USA. Petaluma. Once was the "Egg capitol of the world" not so much anymore. The NH whaling boat that I just started on April 1st, has on the shelf for 10+ years. I purchased it for $69.

Welcome Jim, I like your intro stating that your modelling interests are a reflection of years gone by. I think that is important when you can relate a personal story to your creation.
Jim C.