New Bee to SOS

Being a retired Engineer of 82 my other hobby was building High End Acoustic Guitars. My shop is air conditioned but does not keep up with 100+ degree temp. I bought a kit of the sailing ship The Benjaman W. Lathan, I got the bulk heads and started to planking the hull, there where the problems began to surface. I decided to join this Forum to seek help!! Help!! the drawing don't match the parts and the parts are off! So I started the the Main rail and once again the parts and the drawing don't match. I won't quite but I have to take it so as to not through the thing in the .......!

I'm in the stage that I know where the parts are wrong and I have to make the parts to match the frame I've constructed, being an engineer I will go down to our local Printing shop an make several copy's of the ship and the areas in question,and to the local hobby shop to obtain the correct balsa supply. and cut out the part necessary to make it right..... If this is the right approach I'm golden, if not Corsair? Help

If it is the kit by Model Shipways, the hull planking is not balsa. It is Basswood. Your assessment of the situation may be the easy way, but without knowing exactly what you are seeing, I'm not sure. :)

By the way, if your local shop doesn't have any wood that you need, you can buy lumber of many types and sizes from the Model Expo web site. They are the same company that makes your kit. :)

Thanks Jeff I stand corrected it is basswood. I think your right about the situation I'm in and I will let you know the out come. By the way the Bluenose that is plank on frame (POF) looks to be more difficult but it is CAD drawn and is made from the CAD file, making the drawings more accurate, correct me if I'm wrong. Thanks for the help. Just learning the Ropes so to speak John