New Laser

Many of you know the Admiral and I own a laser etching business separate from my model building hobby. Our business has been good the past year and allowed us to purchase a second laser. Here is the new Epilog Fusion Pro 48 we just ordered. It is a 48" x 36", 80 watt laser that includes state-of-the-art capabilities. On-board camera system, 15" z-axis, on-board compressor, positive pressure airflow, super fast, and it will cut through 1" of solid hardwood in a single pass. This thing is a beast.. It should arrive by early February.

IMG_1928.JPG

Dang guys. All I want is one little shapeoko xxl. Well am afraid to even ask what those cost. Any words of wisdom? If every thing works out I should have it in late Feb.Maybe if things work out I can get a 3d laser printer later. Gary

that is not my personal laser in post #2 it is owned by a small shop I have been working with for many, many years. I could not afford a laser like that or for that matter a place to put it.

I know there are lasers with up to 5 axis but I do not think you can do 3D carving with one.

one thing to consider is the software that runs a 3D carver some are dedicated which means it can not import files from other programs. Usually ones that come with a machine are quite basic and limited to what you can do.

some 3d software like Solidworks, blender Rhino etc are expensive and they have a steep learning curve
some for a hobbyist are free like Fusion 360

Any words of wisdom?
Gary

you might want to look at this topic

Any words of wisdom?