polyester rigging thread.

I'd like to get some feedback about what people think about polyester rigging thread. I realize it has both pros and cons. I'm working on a Mamoli Victory and it came with virtually no thread at all. Especially no black for standing rigging. So, I bought some .5mm black cotton prewaxed which seems to work well. Over the years, accumulated quite a bit of black poly. What I have came on both rolls and flat wrapped and seems to hold the shape of what it was spooled on. I actually tried running it through a flame to remove curls and kinks. That works pretty good, also managed to stretch it a little with no expected shrinkage. Thanks, Ken

Подтверждаю как партнер Доманофф.
На своей модели я также использовала полиэфирные нити.

I confirm as a partner of Domanoff.
I also used polyester threads on my model.

sp033.jpg

Last edited by a moderator:
I am not an expert on rigging lines, however, I can only add to this ----In short, I hate nylon or polyester thread. When or if the company sends the line on those flat plastic holders, then the line retains its shape and as you unwind the line off the flat plastic holder, it is zig zaggy. The only way I have found to work with this stuff is to use a mixture of 50/50 white glue and water on the line - as I have tied the line to a door top or something and put a weight on end to straighten the line out. The slight mixture also makes the line a little stiff which is good for me.
The cotton line to me is the best and is more authentic and is best to always use real beeswax and run the line several times through that to eliminate the fuzziness. Some companies specialize in rigging line and are much better quality and do not need beeswax probably because the line is made on a rope machine device and produces a higher quality line that will have almost nearly no fuzzy to it. Just my opinion..