Revell's Harbour Tug in 1:108 scale [COMPLETED BUILD]

When I saw tugboat models made by Barry (Mighty Mite) and Careloo (Ulysses), I also wanted to build an interesting old tugboat. I started looking for a kit and came across a Revell model:
0.jpg

It is as old as the World model. Not the best quality but I could not find any other old plastic tugboat. I started with the hull. First I glued two pieces of plastic to the bottom of the hull which I then drilled and tapped. The holes will be used to fix the model to the base with threaded rods. The next step was to remove any unnecessary elements that the manufacturer placed on the hull and the deck. I will have to reconstruct them on my own. The pictures show what has been done so far.

1.jpg2.jpg3.jpg4.jpg5.jpg

I hope it is a good start...

Edmund the start is looking good. Are you planning to finish the hull before the screws are attached?
I'm new to plastic (well its been 68 years since my last) what glue do you use for plastic to plastic?

Best Regards
Will

Back to work.

The next step is to clean the side walls of the superstructure of various lifebuoys, fire extinguishers, axes, anchors, etc... The scraped elements will have to be done on my own. I hope I will manage... After the scrapping work it looks like this...
6.jpg7.jpg8.jpg9.jpg10.jpg11.jpg12.jpg

Hi Will, I hope you will succesfully get back to modeling. Answering your questions the screws will be attached to the hull when the whole model, not only the hull, is finished. I usually use the "Contacta Liquid" glue produced by Revell Company. Sometimes Tamiya's "Extra Thin Cement" is in use.

Edmund, I have built the same kit. I like your idea of cleaning the cast in details off the deck and panels.
Will, it’s ALWAYS a good idea to test the cements on spare parts or sprues in the kit. Old kit, foreign manufacturers etc…. Test test test