Rigging masts

Some wisdom of experience required please!
I am almost at the stage of starting the rigging. Mantua's instruction manual is not necessarily the most helpful.
I have seen build logs where the masts have been stepped bare, then standing rigging added in situ, and others recommending adding as much rigging to the masts as possible on the bench before stepping. My hunch is that the latter gives more angles of approach for things like blocks hanging under mast tops and access to parrals, jeers etc. what are the pros and cons of both approaches?
Thanks folks, this learning curve sure has a gradient!

Jimmy, the option is yours.

There are pros and cons to all options.

I am by no means an expert on rigging, having done only simple single mast ships.

In reviewing build logs and help topics, what seems to be most popular is to assemble as much off ship as possible for mast and trees, then attach mast and rig standing rigging such as shrouds and stays, which must be installed on ship.

Of course even some of this can be done off ship when starting at one end of lines that attach to new mast.

Other have said on tall multi section masts to work one level at a time and work up as you go, to make installation of rigging easier, as you have better access with top mast section not attached.

Most folks I have seen do most of rigging on the yards off ship and then attach to masts when its complete.

I am guessing you know basic rigging terms and difference in standing and running rigging?

Each has different purpose and color design of rigging.

Let me know if you need any other help.

Kurt Konrath

By all means scrutinize the plans carefully and do as much rigging off the model as you can. It will make life much easier. It also helps to follow the recommended rigging progression of doing the lower masts first, starting with the bowsprit and working aft, then work your way up to the top masts and finally top gallants.