San Bartolome - Pavel Nikitin ship model

Well! She certainly is a chubby little piglet and weighs about as much to. There is a lot of lumber in this build. As this kit comes with all pieces pre cut ( decking and planking ) I would consider this to be an excellent intermediate skill level ship to build. The finish done by pavel however looks to be in the realm of artist. As my paint kit was returned by post in ukraine and I am not a doctor ( no patience - to wait for replacement) Some issues are instruction manual related so I will start a separate thread ( below ) and update it as I progress with the build. I believe the manual issues are from a cross over from version 1 to version 2 of this kit but not sure
The kit itself is of true eastern European construction technique - Big, Heavy Duty, Built to last forever. The decking and planking are 2mm thick PLANKS!! rather than the traditional .5mm in most kits. The style of the ship reminds me of more like a caricature the a replica and that's probably why I like it so much - it's different.

Last edited:
INSTRUCTION MANUAL CORRECTIONS - Will update this thread as I progress. ** Please let me know if I make mistakes here **
PAGE 2 - the second part #46 ( first page instruction keel assembly) is located on plywood sheet #9.
PAGE 59 & 61 - part # 70R & 70L are actually parts 73L & 76R
PAGE 95 - part sheet #35 is actually sheet #40

Last edited:
I installed keel pins made of bamboo sticks to strengthen the joint as I use my own ship building slipway that only clamps on the bottom of the keel
keel pins.jpg
Dry fit the bulkheads in 2 steps ( fore then aft ) tightened up with elastics and then glue/welded the seams rather than installing bulkheads one at a time
bulkheads.jpg

Be sure to put the angled cut on the horse shoe wall ( I think that's a technical term LOL ) framing to the top plate to get the angle correct
angle cut.jpg