Should our hobby enjoy perpetuation or become past history?

Hello ... my name is Marc Mosko and I've never built a wood model ship before, nor a plastic model - nor any model.

So what am I doing here on your forum? I have good reason. I believe that wood ship model building hobby is a family. Many of us help each other by posting build logs, write articles about our work and create fine models that become legacies. This is the first time in 46 years I've posted on any forum. I figured it's about time. I've been a silent family member for too long.

Here's my story. In the early 1970's I worked and lived in Italy. Due to the strangest of circumstances, I invested and partnered with an Italian in Rome, Italy. We operated a small chain of toy and hobby shops. One day I was in our main store and short, smiling young red-headed man came in carrying a huge wood model kit of HMS Victory. He introduced himself as Sergio Fabrizi. He had just created a new business called Sergal. Passionately, he insisted that his was the world's finest wood model kit and that he selected our store for the introduction of his kit. I negotiated by offering him a place for his built model in our store window and an acceptable price. We agreed, the kits sold well and Sergal (now part of Mantua Model) was born. And I fell in love with model ship building.