Tools I will need to begin 1st model kit

I'm trying to acquire the basic tools I will need to start a beginner level wooden model ship, and would appreciate some advice. I am new to the hobby and the website but am glad to be here.

Hi Henry and welcome to the forum.
Some "basic" tools you would need are a range of scalpel type knives like Xacto, straight edges and curved. A sanding block with about four different grades of sandpaper, tweezers - straight and bent/curved, left or right handed (only kidding), long nosed pliers, side cutters and a pinvice for small drill bits.
Glues - CA, Titebond and PVA.

Regards
Eric

I will continue this reply soon.

There are several sizes of clothes pins that will help hold items in place. Rubber bands work good also. A cutting pad to protect the work area. 90 degree measuring square in small size like x-acto sells.

This list is taken off of my original main site:

Here is a basic list of tools below both hand and power tools. This list is basic and gives the modeler some ideas. Bold items are what I consider a must. It also depends on what "stage" or "phase" you are in the building process.

For instance, you will be starting with the Frame and Hull:
Therefore decent 6" mini bar clamps are needed, Wood Glue, Mini-Anvils as weights, Machinist Squares, Sand paper and files for fairing the hull.
You will need a "Building Board" that will hold your frame and model for a fairly long period of time to keep it stable.

Then the Deck and Deck Furniture:
Sand Paper, Xacto knife, Tweezers, Calipers, Small Steel ruler 6", Pinvise and small drills (very small), diamond needle files set, CA Glue, etc

Then the mast and yards:
Small Hand Plane for tapering mast yards, tweezers, scissors, Pinvise, 0 setup centering ruler. Exacto knife. If you have a lathe that is great as you can taper your yards, Sewing Needles that have the eye for sails, etc.

Then Rigging:
Tweezers, beeswax, hemostats, scissors, etc.