Woronora River

Hi from down under. I’m a scratch builder for over 15years. Mostly 17th century British ships, Dutch merchantmen and historical ships peculiar to Australian discovery. Currently I’m looking for images and plans (?) 16th to 17th century of Dutch fluyts. Especially with bluff sterns. I’m also endeavouring to understand how to navigate ‘Ships of Scale’. I’m going to need all the help I can get and rely on your generosity and patience. Really keen to get some info on ‘Fluyts’. See ya’s! Thanks

Hello Woronora River,
For plans of 16th/17th century ships, including a lovely Dutch Fluyt (or Fleute), "Derfflinger", I would recommend the book "Risse von Schiffen des 16. und17. Jahrhunderts" by Rolf Hockel. The book is in German, but it includes excellent loose leaf plans in 1:100 scale for 7 different ships: "Derfflinger"1675, "Golden Hind/Pelican" 1575, "Revenge" 1577, "Roter Lowe" 1597, "Berlin" 1674, "Grosse Jacht" 1678, and "Friedrich Wilhelm zu Pferde" 1680. The book is no longer in print but sometimes come up second hand. I got mine from a maritime book seller in the Netherlands, Nautiek.nl Maritime Books who sell over the internet.

Hope that helps

Hi from down under. I’m a scratch builder for over 15years. Mostly 17th century British ships, Dutch merchantmen and historical ships peculiar to Australian discovery. Currently I’m looking for images and plans (?) 16th to 17th century of Dutch fluyts. Especially with bluff sterns. I’m also endeavouring to understand how to navigate ‘Ships of Scale’. I’m going to need all the help I can get and rely on your generosity and patience. Really keen to get some info on ‘Fluyts’. See ya’s! Thanks

also from my side a warm welcome here on board of our forum