Yacht Mary Build (HELP)

I would like to introduce myself to the group and get some help if possible on my current build. I have been a modeler for years and have a great deal of experience with plastic armor, airplanes, jets and ships. Assembly, painting, rigging and dealing with minute photo etch has not been a problem for me. I have also assembled a 35" wood RC ship and finished a solid hull model of the Fair American.

I have never planked a ship and have run into a brick wall with my current build of the Yacht Mary. To be fair, Mamoli has horrible planking instructions which have already caused an issue with the first plank I put on. It stated that the first plank was at deck level when it should have been at the top of the forward bulkheads. I can deal with this but there is no instruction of the garboard planks and how they should lay. I have seen builds on this site and pictures showing a full width plank starting at the bow and going aft. That is where I am totally lost. All prior build pictures I have seen do not show any of the first planking on the keel. I am bowing to anyone who can help to direct where my planks should go because the plank the way that I have it will need to do a 90 degree twist around the rear bulkheads which just doesn't seem right.

I have looked at numerous planking videos but they don't seem to have a flat bottom near the keel Please take pity on my attempts and offer what ever help you can. The funny thing is that I first bought the Constructo Halifax and then bought the Yacht Mary as my practice ship. That did not go as planned. I am looking for constructive help. SOS

bow showing gaboard strake.jpg

garbord Strake.jpg

IMG_0711.jpg