3d printing for an absolute novice

I've been watching tutorials on 3d printing in resin and similar, and I'm thinking of buying a printer seeing the wonders that can be done, but my question is, is it really as easy as loading a file and cros
s your arms watching how it prints? in these tutorials I found where to download or buy very interesting things, among others this one.
Of course I am more than interested in being able to make a model like this, but the question would be, which printer would be the most appropriate, what would be the cost in resin, would it be better to buy the file and find someone who understands and order the printing?

is it really as easy as loading a file and cross your arms watching how it prints?

yes it is that easy BUT the really hard part is the CAD work and 3D modeling to create that file. There are sites that offer free STL file for printing but you may not find anything you want.

What is your backround and experence in 3D modeling and CAD drawing that is the first issue to think about.
what software do you use Blender , Fusion360, Rino, Solidworks etc.

years ago i watched all the videos on a CNC carving machine and they made it look so easy just load in the file and press START and there you go. What they did not tell you was how to create the cutting files the company just offered a library of their files, which was of no interest to me. The software offered with the machine was way to simple and did not have any advanced tools to create complex files. The company that made the carving machine did not say anything about the fact YOU had to be able to create 3D files and years ago that software was and still is very expensive.

bottom line the catch here is you have to be really good at using 3D software the machine is at the end of the process.

Last edited:

is it really as easy as loading a file and cross your arms watching how it prints?