A Schooner for Port Jackson, c.1803

I have been sitting in my living room for the past 22 years looking at a scratchbuilt hull with bowsprit sitting in its case, wondering when I would get around to doing the rigging, having built the hull in 1999/2000. As a little light relief from sculpting, converting and painting assorted figures, I thought that my eyesight would benefit from making the spars and rigging (!) for this little boat, whose lines were sent to the Governor of Sydney (Port Jackson) in 1803. Due to the density of the bush, most travel was by boat and it is not known whether this vessel was actually built. Although this is a well known kit with plans from the late Karl Heinz Marquardt, there are some discrepancies with the lines from the National Maritime Museum, which I have used along with the sail plan from the late David MacGregor, in 1/4":1' (1/48) scale. As with all my model boats and ships, it is mounted in a glass case over a mirror:

Finished, port side 2.jpg

Finished, fore deck.jpg

Finished, deck.jpg

Finished, aft deck 2.jpg

Finished, foremast.jpg

Finished, mainmast.jpg

Finished, port bow.jpg

Finished, port quarter.jpg

I used one of BECC flags, and painted over the design on the fabric with acrylic paints to seal the fabric. After attaching the ensign to its lanyard I heated it with a hair drier so I could put the folds in place, and used a rubber band to keep the shape until the ensign had cooled.

Mike