Advice on making a wood deck from veneer

I have a resin YS Masterpieces,1/350 scale Georgios Averof that I am considering placing a wood veneer deck on. As I am inexperienced in wood crafting, my thought was to purchase a generic sheet of decking in the scale and custom trimming the veneer to match the fore and aft deck areas, i am concerned, in particular, about cutting out the areas for the deck fittings If anyone has experience with this, I would appreciate your help.1668228081412.png

I have a resin YS Masterpieces,1/350 scale Georgios Averof that I am considering placing a wood veneer deck on. As I am inexperienced in wood crafting, my thought was to purchase a generic sheet of decking in the scale and custom trimming the veneer to match the fore and aft deck areas, i am concerned, in particular, about cutting out the areas for the deck fittings If anyone has experience with this, I would appreciate your help.View attachment 340016
Pictures?

HE3890AD7-8157-40F1-B859-3E6FDB22EC82.pngere is a picture of the fire and aft decks taken from a book I have. I can supply more if necessary

This was taken while I was on the ship recently This plan most accurately depicts the deck plan. The areas amisships and the superstructure are steel decking 8A0F9149-CC39-484B-A3C4-C883921EE3A6.jpeg

If you are going to use veneer, it will need to be cut into strips. Use a strip cutter if you can. Cutting opening will take some measurements and a sharp X-Acto with a #11 blade or maybe even a scalpel. Start amid ships to layout the centerline and plank then go from there, cutting and fitting each strip to fit. Some sanding and shaping may be necessary.Strip Cutter 1.jpg

Do you think I could use a generic deck sheet or would that be a more Complicated procedure?View attachment 340188
I think, this could be the best solution, if you find some in appr. your scale you are building !