Airbrush

I am looking for advice on what is, in your opinions, the best or better airbrush to purchase. I want to eliminate the brushy look when using acrylics on a wooden model. Any input is appreciated!

I am looking for advice on what is, in your opinions, the best or better airbrush to purchase. I want to eliminate the brushy look when using acrylics on a wooden model. Any input is appreciated!
Hi Phil,
There was some discussion on types of airbrushes in the following thread that may help you:

I mentioned in a post in that thread that:
”I then researched and bought an Omni 4000, it’s a Thayer Chandler, double action, fixed cup, top feed. The 4000 changed my whole airbrushing control. I progressed to Vallejo Air paints and had even smoother coverage. I am still learning but it takes practice.”

Hope this helps.

Grex.jpg

I am in no way an expert in airbrushing however, I tried many different airbrushes in the past and really like the Grex pistol grip unit. Available with any needle combo you could ask for. I use mine with their compressor and IMHO it's the best.
Of course an airbrush is just like any other tool. It’s up to the end user to get the right mixture of paint, air pressure, spray pattern ,etc.

Last edited:
Hi Phil

I have been using this for years

Very easy to clean and maintain
Easy to disassemble and change with multiple needles
Both for the beginner and advanced user

My Trumpeter U 552 kit has sprayed with this

Harder & Steenbeck Evolution

download.jpg

Regards
Henk

Hi Phil,
There was some discussion on types of airbrushes in the following thread that may help you:

I mentioned in a post in that thread that:
”I then researched and bought an Omni 4000, it’s a Thayer Chandler, double action, fixed cup, top feed. The 4000 changed my whole airbrushing control. I progressed to Vallejo Air paints and had even smoother coverage. I am still learning but it takes practice.”

Hope this helps.
thank you Roger.
Hi Phil

View attachment 273606

Regards