Anteo Harbour Tug. Panart

Ken

Hello modellers. As some of you will know I have just finished a Sopwith Camel, my most delicate model to date, never again such a fragile build for me. Talking to a friend about this he suggested I make him a harbour tug, this would be a more substantial build, one that I should be able to handle easier. I’ve never built a model like this before so I agreed, as it will be something different. I didn’t want to make one with a pre formed hull so we chose Panarts’ Antio, a plank on bulkhead kit that looks quite nice, although it is designed as a RC. model it will only be built for static display.

On getting the kit my first impressions were a little disappointing, there were no hardwoods at all only soft white wood throughout, the ply didn’t look like very good quality and the second planking strips looked like they had been rough sawn and the deck is just printed ply. Very disappointedly the brass sheet for the side wall isn’t brass as it was on my Amerigo Vespucci but just very bright coated metal and looks wrong, this would have made a nice feature as on my A.V but now I’ll have to paint it. I remember Panart being one of the better kit manufactures, I think that cost cutting may be responsible for the lowering of quality, just my opinion.

I’ve shown the box contents, it looks like with a bit of effort there is enough to make a fairly nice model, the plans are in Italian but look to be easier to follow than most Chinese kits, there are some instructions but these are pretty limited. One thing that surprised me is the size of the model, it’s huge, to give you an idea I’ve included a picture of the funnel next to my Ajax, I think that I’ll be planking forever. As there isn’t a great deal of fine detailing just lots of planking I only intend to post occasional updates when there is something to show, so there it is my next build, not the usual type posted here but something different, wish me luck.

001.jpg

002.jpg

003.jpg

004.jpg