Beginner entering

Hi,

Just wanted to say hi to you guys, as well as doing a short introduction of myself. :)

I'm a curios Swedish computer games developer who have just found out about ship modeling. I built a lot of those plastic car/aircraft models as a kid and is now looking forward to get started with some more advanced wood boat modeling. Expect some pictures from my upcoming first project in the near future. :)

/Klarre

Welcome Klarre...a lot of good advice and assistance to be found here. I'm sure you'll enjoy shipbuilding.
J

Welcome aboard. This is a very friendly site with great people. Take time to look around and enjoy. Hope to see you start a building log soon.

Thank you! I'm very excited to get started. I live just a few miles from the Vasa musem in Stockholm, and one of the goals of getting into this new hobby is to one day build it. I've been tempted to order it already, but as a beginner I will start out easy with Constructo's Bluenose II. Hopefully it will be delivered during the upcoming week.

Welcome Klarre,

I see that you already have a great welcome committee and I want to also welcome you.

I agree with Brian (as well as the others) that to get out your parts list of woods, dowels, parts, etc. and compare to the parts list. This may seem odd, but two things will happen. You will become very familiar with the boxes contents. You will get a feel of how things are arranged. Then lastly, just check to make sure all is there. Some parts are already made for you and some parts you have to make yourself. I am like you, as I built the plastic kind when I was a child. Humm, now at 56 - just getting back to the pleasure of crafting my own projects again. The one thing (major) about wooden model ships verses the plastic kind, is that the wooden ones, you build instead of putting together.
There is a vast difference. I am sure that you will be excited once you get your ship in and start to work on it.