building from line drawings

Hello all. I am new to this, but not to modeling. I have a question about building a model from line drawings (profile with sheer line, cross sections of the hull at stations, etc).

1) On the cross sections showing all the stations, is each station line inclusive of the thickness of the planking, or only the timbers?

2) Is the outermost line the midframe, and the same on both the right (bow stations) side and left (stern) stations? On my set of drawings the midframe outline looks like a double line, and when I count stations on the profile there are 6 fore and 6 aft of the midframe; would this mean the drawing is showing the midframe dimension without and with the planking?

3) Is there a convention on this?

Thanks for any help. Email (mikeslade1435@gmail.com) works well for me.

Attachments

• Gerda III Lines.pdf
    1.7 MB · Views: 143
Stations are normally to the inside of the planking. It often says that on the drawing somewhere, or it'll mention them being moulded or molded which means the same thing because it's intended to be used to make molds or patterns for making the frames. Builder's half models too, are made to the molded lines. Decorative half-models are anyone's guess.

Even when taking lines off an existing vessel, it's often done from inside to the inside of the planking. Sometimes though, especially with smaller craft, it's measured to the outside surface of the planking for whatever reason, like developing a blocking plan for dry-docking.

If your drawing doesn't say, one way or another, you have to look for clues. Look at the keel and see if the rabbet for the garboard plank is drawn; at the stem or stern post of the plan view (top-down) and see if the rabbet for the planking is drawn there. The pics below are drawn to the inside of the planking.
rabbets1.png rabbets2.png

Your Gerda lines look like they are to the inside of the planking, but the profile view is not

Last edited:
Cap'n Mikey: