diorama help...scale question

Hi,
I'm planning to build a diorama of the Yorktown Battle of the American Revolution. I'm doing it for educational purposes, so I want the students to see the whole layout of the battle. My table will be about 3' x 4'. I have never built a diorama before. I've been looking at lots of videos and websites about building dioramas, just not sure how to figure out what the scale would be, and if there are diorama pieces at that scale I could buy (like houses, troop formations, cannon, etc.) to add detail to the landscape. Anyone have experience building dioramas of this scale? It would look something like this:
IMG_4997.jpeg
Thanks,
Kramer

Well, you start off with what the size is of the land you represent and compare it to the actual land it covers. It's hard to tell from the picture, but if a road is 15 feet wide and your diorama road 1/4 inch, you are at 1/720. In other words, your 1/4" = 15' than 1" = 60 feet, or 1" = 720".
The right way to do it would be to measure the distance of the real land mass and compare it to the size you want to build. You need to have them in the same size units to get the actual scale. In other words, feet compared to feet. So if your land mass is in miles , you will need to convert that to feet or inches and compare it to the size of the model.

I hope that gives you some ideas.
If you have more questions, you can ask here and I'll get notified. :)

Jeff

Well, you start off with what the size is of the land you represent and compare it to the actual land it covers. It's hard to tell from the picture, but if a road is 15 feet wide and your diorama road 1/4 inch, you are at 1/720. In other words, your 1/4" = 15' than 1" = 60 feet, or 1" = 720".