Greeting from Arizona! And wanting some info on an 18th century Dutch ship called a snow, snaw, or snauw.

Hello everyone, my name is Kevin Lawton & I live near Sedona Arizona (about 90 miles north of Phoenix). I'm an absolute beginner at wooden model ships having built plastic models for more than 40 years. Recently discovered that my earliest ancestors (maternal side) arrived in the US at the port of Philadelphia in August of 1720 from southwest Germany (a region known as the Palatinate). I grew up just outside of Philadelphia & have had a long standing interest in history (culminating with a Master's Degree in History).

Anyway we know from a family diary when they arrived and we know from the port of Philadelphia records that the only ship to arrive from the Palatinate in August of 1720 was a Dutch Snow (also : snaw or snauw) that sailed from Rotterdam. This matches the diary in that the diary mentions traveling by river to Rotterdam before embraking for the colonies.

My ultimate goal is to build (scratch) or modify an existing kit as a snow. To that end I'm wondering if anyone here has any info especially plans, drawings etc of a snow ship. My understanding is that a snow s a square rigged vessel with two masts, with a snow- or trysail-mast stepped immediately (behind) the main mast.

Thanks for any help/info and I'm looking forward to searching the site for all the help I'm going to need!!

Looking forward to this new 'adventure' in modeling. Under no illusions that I have a lot to learn. I have been reading numerous books including Underhill's 'Plank on Frame Models' Vol. I & II, 'Sailing Ship Rigs & Rigging', Longridge's 'The Anatomy of Nelson's Ships', Chapelle's 'The Search for Speed Under Sail', and others more specific to planking, etc. My first kit is going to be the Amati US 'Arrow American Boat' of 1814. I chose it because the hull looks easier to plank than many of the more 'blunt' nosed ship. 1587854206335.png

Attachments

• 1587854205814.png