Hello from a lucky guy gifted several model ships.

Hello! I am new to shipsofscale and modeling. A week ago I came across several model ships while helping an elderly friend move, and she let have all of them. So here I am now looking for advice on model ship building. Three of the ships I found and would like to build are an Artesian Latina Swift 1805 1:50 scale, Mantura Model Golden Star 1:150 Art. 769, and the Mantura Model HMS Victory 1:98 Art. 776. The Mantura sets look untouched and in near perfect condition despite being 25+ years old, and the swift appears to have all the pieces but has been rummaged through a bit.

IMG_20240605_143815.jpg

IMG_20240605_143727.jpg

IMG_20240605_142029.jpg

I figured as much. The other two are much bigger and more detailed.

Being that I never built a model ship before I would definitely not risk ruining the bigger ones by attempting them unskilled. However, I have a background in woodworking, welding, and construction so I should be a relatively fast learner. I am also a little bit of a perfectionist and very meticulous, but I don't know it that would end up being more of a hindrance or help?

And thank you for the link. I have already looked at a lot of building guides to get ideas on the tools, space, and time I would need to for the special kits, but I hadn't hit the beginners guides yet.

Welcome aboard! If I may give my 2 cents worth, I would not start with any of these kits. I would start with the model expo's grand banks dory, and perhaps the Norwegian sailing pram.

You can buy them individually or as a set. I found them invaluable in starting to understand how to work with wooden boats. The learning curve and complexity is much better if you start off with a more simple project.

Rob

Welcome aboard! If I may give my 2 cents worth, I would not start with any of these kits. I would start with the model expo's grand banks dory, and perhaps the Norwegian sailing pram.