Hello from Montana!

Hello everyone,
I am a new member from Montana in the United States. From a young age I have been fascinated with pretty much everything mechanical and things that move. After high school I attended college for a degree in fine art painting and printmaking. I've worked in the railroad industry for the past 19 years but ironically trains are one machine that moves that never quite captured my imagination for some reason.
I have been a plastic modeler since I was a young child. Almost 50 now, modeling is a hobby that I've never let go of, though I admit life has gotten in the way substantially in recent years but I now have a more dedicated space in a separate shop away from our house. I'd place my plastic modeling skills in the formidable range, if I do say, and my interests run from automotive to armor, real space and science-fiction, and the occasional sailing ship model. I have always wanted to try my hand at wood ship modeling and I think now might finally be the time though I have 2 plastics going at the moment, a Revell Germany 1/50 viking ship and I am just starting what was to my retirement project, the Heller 1/100 HMS Victory, though I'm not yet retired.