Hello, New Member.....

I didn’t have time for hobbies during my working life and now I am retired I came upon model ship building a little too late. I am not sure how or why I drifted into building a 1:25 scale OCCRE model kit of HMS Terror, but 18 months later, at the end of March the model was finished and installed in a display case.

Along the way I ran into many issues that needed investigation, I acquired a number of books and read many articles, many of which were on this site and learned about sailing vessels as well as modelling techniques.

I am not an expert and know relatively little on this subject, I needed the next modelling challenge, but realised I did not have the time to progress gradually and decide to go for a scratch build.

What I learnt from my first model:-
  • It takes a long time to complete a model so you need to have a subject that inspires, to maintain focus and continues to drive progress. I therefore looked behind the model at the history of the vessel, the people and events that shaped its existence.
  • Satisfaction must come from the actual research and build and not from the completion.
  • Models end up larger that you think, so consider what to do once it is completed.
I started my search for the next project in April and have decided to log this next build (Seagull). I would like to thank all the people who have assisted me with information, materials and techniques that will ultimately make this possible.

Welcome. It would be great if you start a log for your next build as it is always good to see what other people are up to.

also from my side a warm welcome here on board of our forum
Seagull - a very interesting project ......

Thank you for your kind welcome. Please feel free to follow my SOS Seagull build log. I also have many questions that I will be posting over the coming months so information and views very much appreciated.

It is never to late to start building ships, unless they have laid you 6' under!