Hello

Good day,

I am completely new to this hobby and I am hoping to seek and find support in this forum.
I have acquire the below starter kit to begin with but to be honest I am a bit overwhelmed:

I will probably post some of my concerns and questions in the coming day in a new thread but for starters I cannot figure out if this is a bluff or sharp bow design, apparently it makes a big difference in the hull planking methodology.

Also how long is this model going to take me if I put in 2/3 hours a day?

Regards,
Bringo

Last edited:
You are in the right place this FORUM HAS MEMBERS WORLD WIDE REPRESENTING ALL SECTIONS AND EXPERIENCE FROM NOVICES TO WORLD CLASS EXPERTS WHO WILL GLADLY ANSWER YOUR QUESTIONS, THE LENGTH OF TIME DEPENDS UPON IF YOU ARE GOING TO RIG THE SHIP OR USE STUB MASTS, JUST MY OPION I THINK THE RIGGING IS GOING TO BE A PROBLEM I WOULD USE STUB MASTS AND FIND A EASIER ONE FOR RIGGING, SOMEONE WILL GIVE MORE ADVICE AS I DISLIKE RIGGING FOR MANY REASONS ROOM IS ONE OF THEM, SO ASK AWAY. Don

Hallo and a warm welcome here on board.
We will help and assist you as much as possible in your first try on a ship model.
First of all, in my opinion, you were choosing a good model for a first built. Good scale with 1:50, so not too small, limited rigging with two masts, double planked.
The best will be to start a building log for kit models in this area:

Here you can show your model, the parts and formulate your needs for help and information......
Important question: How good and detailed is the manual and the plans of this kit?

Bringo Welcome to SOS, if you create a build log then it is easier for other members to come up with tips and advice, good luck.

Welcome aboard SOS! We glad you found us! Certainly, you ask questions you may need an answers for...But a much easy way to start a build log as Uwe and Knut mentioned above. We will be more than glad to help you in you build. :)