Mayflower 1/64 - Billing Boats

I bought this kit at a thrift store. It had the upper planking done (darker wood) and I have been plugging away at it for a few months. Getting close to closing it in. It has been a learning experience for a first attempt at a wooden ship. Oh, and an inventory of the box indicates that nothing is missing! Not bad for $40.

IMG_2412.jpeg

IMG_2411.jpeg

IMG_2410.jpeg

IMG_2425.jpeg

IMG_2441.jpeg

IMG_2440.jpeg

IMG_2442.jpeg

IMG_2455.jpeg

IMG_2454.jpeg

Planking continues and am only about 3-4 strakes left to go!

IMG_2600.jpeg

I’ll need lots of putty and sanding but I plan on painting the bottom up to the waterline anyway. Good news is that the putty takes the stain fairly well and if the top is pretty tight then the stain should look good.

IMG_2443.jpeg

Thanks for looking.
Dave

Hi David. You are making good progress - as you say that hull is almost closed. From what I can gauge from the pictures, the wood looks to be of good quality so the hull should come out looking good!

The weekend was a success! Got the hull closed in. Now it’s sanding time. I will do some rough sanding first before applying a bunch of putty. Hopefully that way I won’t just be removing all the putty I put on. Although the instructions are minimal, I am assuming the beak would be next followed by rubbing strakes and chain plates. The rudder, I think, will wait until I am done manhandling the hull.

IMG_2614.jpegIMG_2615.jpegIMG_2616.jpegIMG_2617.jpeg

Hi David. You are making good progress - as you say that hull is almost closed. From what I can gauge from the pictures, the wood looks to be of good quality so the hull should come out looking good!
Thanks Heinrich! I don’t know about the wood quality. It came with kit. The grain seems quite a bit more open than the basswood I bought recently.