New guy..

Hello, my name is Mark.. I'm 60, married. I work as a programmer at a nearby medical center.

I've built many models over the years, starting with plastic model airplanes, cars, ships (Revell Cutty Sark and Constitution), tanks, then balsa free-flight control line, R/C aerobatic and scale models, numerous HO scale structures, some from kits and some scratch built.

I also like to oil paint. And doing maritime/nautical art has been a long held desire. I'm very interested in US Naval History (former US Navy LT), as well as Imperial Russian Naval History (my mom's side of the family fled Penza, Russia during the Revolution), the Clipper era, and early America's Cup sailing races, among others.

So I'm getting into model ship building in order to better understand the eras and subjects that I want to paint, as well as just a general interest in ships from my childhood days.

I ordered the three entry level Modeler's shipyard kits from Model Expo. (Grand Banks Dory, Norwegian Sailing Pram & Muscongus Bay Lobster Smack)

I'm looking forward to learning a lot here and hope at some point to be able to contribute something of value to the knowledge this site encompasses.

Thanks,

Mark

also from my side a warm welcome here on board of our forum

I also like to oil paint. And doing maritime/nautical art has been a long held desire. I'm very interested in US Naval History (former US Navy LT),

do you have a special period in naval history that interest you? steam navy, civil war navy, sailing navy, modern steel navy?

I also like to oil paint. And doing maritime/nautical art has been a long held desire. I'm very interested in US Naval History (former US Navy LT),

do you have a special period in naval history that interest you? steam navy, civil war navy, sailing navy, modern steel navy?