protection against breathing and other exposure to toxic fumes from glue

Hello,
I'm just getting into learning about building model ships from wood, learning the parts of the old sailing ships, what they look like and where they are located on the ship, and if I start out simple I think I will have some fun. There is one area of this that I need to find information on before I start, and that is how to protect myself against toxic fumes. I had a lung transplant 3 and 1/2 years ago and what I breathe has become the overriding factor in everything I do and everywhere I go. I need to find out what type of glues I need to protect myself against, then find a 100% effective way of doing just that. I am also going to talk to my pulmonologist about this, but was just wondering if anybody out there has any experience or knowledge that will help me. Thanks

Hi Henry,
Two that spring to mind immediately are CA glue (aka 'superglue') and if you are to use enamel paints the cellulose thinners you must use to wash the brushes. CA glue is very useful, but I know a lot of the guys use alternatives like Titebond for the woodwork and lacquer for sealing knots, lines etc. You can avoid thinners by using acrylic paints and lacquers which are waterbased, so brushes can be washed in water. I think all glues have some smell or other and the most glue-intensive time is planking, so you might benefit from a fan blowing across your workbench? Looking forward to following your build when you get started. Regards.